top of page

I'm a PitchWars mentee!!


For those of you who remember my PimpMyBio post from a few months ago, I have good news – I’M A PITCHWARS MENTEE!

The incredible Cat Scully is my mentor and will be guiding this book to the be the best it can be. She has shown so much support and love for my story I can’t wait to get started and get things moving!

I know there were a LOT of talented writers who didn’t get picked this year. It’s sad there can’t be a mentee place for everyone (something like 2,600 applied?!) but I hope those who may be disappointed don’t give up! This is one way to get there, not the ONLY way. Keep going!

Before I get my edit letter, my homework will be to re-read ADSOM and Six of Crows as well as other voice-tastic novels to see how voice drives the story as well as create a beat-sheet with every chapter. Which is fine, cause I’m a total Hermione about these things and I love that I have my work to do! No time for hanging around, basking in the glow of excitement and / or fear of the editing gods.

The secret Facebook mentee group is wonderful, it’s so nice to connect with others who are going through the same experience. So far it’s a lot of pictures, squeeing, getting to know each other and our stories, finding our fellow peeps… just amazing!

But what is the PitchWars contest about really? Getting an agent, a publishing deal, a BIG WAD OF CASH? <– ( please. no. don’t set your hopes this high.)

As far as I can tell for me and many others, it’s about creating a damn good book. Something you’re proud of, that people want to read. It’s about working hard, getting conditioned to the environment you’ll be thrown into once you get into the real publishing world. PitchWars is like a training ground of deadlines, editing, taking criticism, rejection, being prepared for loss AND good news. All in the space of a few teeny months rather than the course of a year, too.

You have to get used to waiting and working hard, and PitchWars definitely combines both. But after trying for three years – third time lucky! – to get into this, I’m ready for this experience.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page